International projects in education

EIT Digital Master School

The EIT Digital Master School is an exclusive joint initiative by the leading technical universities and business schools in Europe with additional mentoring and partnering from excellent European research organisations and leading business partners. EIT Digital students will be immersed in the research environment of the university during the study period. This will give an excellent starting point if aiming at doctoral studies. The integration of innovation skills in education and involvement of industrial partners in the education will also prepare students for key industrial roles and responsibilities. 

The EIT Digital Master School is part of EIT Digital. EIT Digital is selected as one of the first three Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KIC) supported by the European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT), a new independent community body which was set up to address Europe's innovation gap. EIT Digital has seven physical co-location centres. The Helsinki Co-location Centre is situated at Aalto University School of Science. This area is the main hub ICT in Finland, particularly prominent in software systems, telecommunications, and Internet services. EIT Digital Master School



EUROEAST provides scholarships to nationals of the targeted ENPI East countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine) to spend a mobility period in Europe (at Aalto University) and vice-versa on a wide variety of academic fields at all levels of study (Undergraduate, Master, Doctorate, Post-Doctorate and Staff). The scholarships cover subsistence allowances, travel costs, tuition/registration fees and insurance costs.



India4EU II provides scholarships to nationals of India to spend a mobility period in Europe (at Aalto University) on a wide variety of academic fields at different levels of study (Undergraduate, Master, Doctorate, Post-Doctorate and Staff). The scholarships cover subsistence allowances, travel costs, tuition/registration fees and insurance costs.



SMART² - Smart Cities and Smart Grids for Sustainable Development (Brazil)

The project SMART² - Smart Cities and Smart Grids – project is coordinated by CentraleSupélec (Paris, France). It gathers 18 higher education institutions, 10 European and 8 Brazilian institutions. Three other structures are associated with the project, the T.I.M.E. network, Ecole Centrale de Lille and companies as Rincent BTP. SMART² aims at strengthening academic collaborations between Brazil and Europe and will finance mobilities for Brazilian engineering students, doctorates, post-doctorates and staff to Europe. The priority areas of the program will include engineering, technology, computer science, mathematics, architecture and planning. The Brazilian partner universities are:  Universidade Federal de Itajuba (UNIFEI), Universidade Federal de Campina Grande (UFCG), Universidade Federal do Pará (UFPA), Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ), Universidade de São Paulo (USP), Universidade de Brasília (UnB), Universidade Federal do Ceará (UFC). The participating schools at Aalto: School of Science, School of Engineering, School of Electrical Engineering, School of Chemical Technology and School of Arts, Design and Architecture.

TEAM – Technologies for information and communication, Europe – east Asia Mobilities (Japan, South Korea)

The TEAM project brings together world class higher education and research institutions as well as industrial partners in the field of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT). TEAM project will finance the exchanges in both directions, from European partner universities to Japan and to South Korea and vice versa. The funding is targeted to doctorates, post docs and academic staff. The project TEAM is coordinated by University Pierre et Marie Curie – Paris 6 (France). The Japanese partners are University of Tokyo - Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, Keio University and Nara Institute of Science and Technology. The South Korean partners are: Chungnam National University, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). The participating schools at Aalto: School of Science and School of Electrical Engineering.


Science without Borders

Science without Borders is a large-scale nationwide scholarship program primarily funded by the Brazilian federal government. The program seeks to strengthen and expand the initiatives of science and technology, innovation and competitiveness through international mobility of students and researchers. The program is a joint effort of the Ministry of Education (MEC) and the Ministry of Science and Technology (MCT) through their respective funding agencies - CAPES and CNPq. The programme offers various types of scholarships for Brazilian students: Undergraduate Study Abroad, PhD Internships Abroad, Full-Time PhD, and Postdoc scholarships.



UFISA – User Centred Design for Innovative Services and Applications 

UFISA (User-centred design for Innovative Services and Applications) -project facilitates the development of joint education activities between universities in Southern Africa (South Africa, Botswana, Namibia) and Finland. The partners join their activities around an important multi-disciplinary area of education and development (both technical and societal): user-centred design of information and communication services for communities. The education provides benefits for the communities in Southern Africa through innovative ICT-based prototype services. The universities benefit from the communities by being able to provide international teaching in real-life settings tied to the well-functioning living labs in Southern Africa.

The partner universities in the project are the following: 

  • Finland: Aalto University School of Science (coordinator), Laurea University of Applied Sciences, Espoo, University of Lapland, Rovaniemi
  • Botswana: University of Botswana, Gaborone
  • Namibia: Polytechnic of Namibia, Windhoek
  • South Africa: Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Cape Town

The main activities of the project include student and teacher mobility, an intensive course organized in South Africa and network meetings. This is a two-year project from August 2012- August 2014. The project is funded by the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs.


Page content by: | Last updated: 12.08.2015.